# CONTRA COSTA LOCAL AGENCY FORMATION COMMISSION MINUTES OF MEETING

### December 10, 2014

### Board of Supervisors Chambers Martinez, CA

- 1. Interim Chair Rob Schroder called the meeting to order at 1:34 p.m.
- 2. The Pledge of Allegiance was recited.
- 3. Roll was called. A quorum was present of the following Commissioners:

City Members Rob Schroder and Don Tatzin.

County Members Federal Glover (at 1:36) and Mary Piepho and Alternate Candace Andersen. Special District Members Michael McGill and Igor Skaredoff and Alternate George Schmidt (at 1:35).

Public Members Don Blubaugh and Alternate Sharon Burke.

Present were Executive Officer Lou Ann Texeira, Legal Counsel Mary Ann Mason, Planner Nat Taylor, and Clerk Kate Sibley.

### 4. Approval of the Agenda

Upon motion of Blubaugh, second by Tatzin, Commissioners, by a vote of 7-0, adopted the agenda.

AYES:

Andersen, Blubaugh, McGill, Piepho, Schroder, Skaredoff, Tatzin

NOES:

none

ABSENT:

Butt (A), Glover (M)

ABSTAIN:

none

#### 5. Public Comments

There were no public comments.

### 6. Approval of November 12, 2014 Meeting Minutes

Upon motion of Piepho, second by Tatzin, the minutes were approved by a vote of 7-0.

AYES:

Andersen, Blubaugh, McGill, Piepho, Schroder, Skaredoff, Tatzin

NOES:

none

ABSENT:

Butt (A), Glover (M)

ABSTAIN:

none

# 7. <u>LAFCO 14-06 - Reorganization 187 (Podva): Annexations to Central Contra Costa Sanitary</u> District (CCCSD) and East Bay Municipal Utility District (EBMUD)

The Executive Officer provided brief background on a proposal to annex 13.1± acres of a larger parcel to both CCCSD and EBMUD in conjunction with a 20-lot subdivision located directly west of the terminus of Midland Way in the Town of Danville. CCCSD has submitted the application on behalf of both itself and EBMUD in response to a petition from the property owner.

There were no public comments.

Upon motion of Piepho, second by McGill, the Commission unanimously, by a 7-0 vote, certified that it reviewed and considered the information contained in the EIR and CEQA documentation;

approved the proposal to be known as Reorganization 187 (Podva): Annexations to Central Contra Costa Sanitary District and East Bay Municipal Utility District, with specified conditions; determined that the territory being annexed is liable for the continuation of taxes, assessments and charges; found that the subject territory is uninhabited, has 100% landowner consent; waived the protest proceeding, and directed staff to complete the proceeding.

AYES:

Blubaugh, Glover, McGill, Piepho, Schroder, Skaredoff, Tatzin

NOES:

none

ABSENT:

Butt (A)

ABSTAIN:

none

#### 8. Commissioner Terms

The Executive Officer reported that the terms of two City members of LAFCO will be up for renewal, those of Alternate Tom Butt and Regular member Rob Schroder.

City members are selected by the City Selection Committee, generally in March or April. LAFCO staff will coordinate with the Executive Director of the Contra Costa County Mayors' Conference and report back to the Commission following the appointments.

## 9. Correspondence from CCCERA

There were no comments on this item.

### 10. Commissioner Comments and Announcements

Commissioner McGill announced that he attended CALAFCO U on December 8, and that he will attend the CALAFCO Legislative Committee meeting on December 12. Commissioners Burke and Skaredoff also attended the CALAFCO U session and found it useful and informative.

### 11. Staff Announcements and Pending Projects

The Executive Officer also attended the CALAFCO U session on December 8, and will attend the CALAFCO Legislative Committee meeting on December 12. She highlighted some of the legislation that is being proposed for the upcoming legislative session.

At 1:44 p.m., Commissioners adjourned to Closed Session to discuss employee performance evaluations.

At 1:58 p.m., Commissioners reconvened and the Chair reported that the Commissioners had discussed the performance evaluations and will discuss with the Executive Officer.

The meeting was adjourned at 1:59 p.m.

Final Minutes Approved by the Commission January 14, 2015.

AYES:

Andersen, Blubaugh, McGill, Piepho, Schroder, Skaredoff, Tatzin

NOES: ABSTAIN:

ABSENT:

un h

Butt (A), Glover (M)

Executive Officer